Pity Pots and Puppy Love

20140115-053129.jpg

Recently a reader commented that I could put a positive spin on my year long health problems, loss of my job, and lack of energy. Granted, I have spent several hours on my pity pot, but by golly, it’s not been all bad. And in keeping with the intent of my blog, I don’t want to think of it as time wasted.

I have gotten to spend more time with my family than I have in over 5 years. Anyone with children knows that is precious time that flies by too quickly.

I have reached level 325 on Candy Crush Saga. Oh, I tried to quit early on – say in the early 40’s – but I was hooked. And then I have all these friends feeding my addiction, and counting on me for lives and extra moves. I owe it to them, don’t I?  Besides, we all have that one friend on a level so high we didn’t even know it existed.

Annie continues to be my constant companion – holding me on the couch when I would otherwise try to get up and do things I shouldn’t be doing.  I’m not her favorite, and that’s OK with me, but I am the consistent one.

I reached a low point when I realized I had to go all out with Moose Petals, my jewelry business, or let it go.  I managed to do three jewelry shows this year – well two and most of another.  My family had to cover me at one show while I returned home to bed.  Unable to work a “real” job, I knew 2 or 3 shows a year would not replace the income we had lost.

Approaching the third anniversary of Moose Petals, I decided I needed to go big or go home.  So I launched a campaign on indiegogo in an attempt to raise funds to take our business to the next level.  Thus far, with only 11 days left, the campaign has failed miserably.  But there is always a bright side: a dear friend sent a gift to me because she believed in me and in  Moose Petals.  That inspired me to push ahead – working and designing on the days I felt like it, and thinking on the bad days.   We won’t make a million dollars this year, probably never will, but I will do what I can, and not worry about the rest.  I’m very thankful for patient and understanding customers who have waited longer than they should for their orders to be completed.  We have learned many times over how God provides for our needs and more.

20140115-053434.jpg

Leave a Reply

