Annie and Me

Annie's First Day at Home

 

Two years ago, Annie came into my life and turned everything upside down.  I really had doubts she would ever fit in and our family could return to normal.   Not that our family has ever been normal, but you know what I mean.  A pastor’s family with 2 children, 4 dogs, and 3 cats does not fit most definitions of normal.  Throwing Annie into the mix seemed like a really, really bad idea to me.

 

 

2013-05-14 13.00.45

 

Annie is now 60+ pounds of love and slobber.  And our family – including our other furry members – has reached a new normal.  Annie is smart when she wants to be, and has learned how to act with each of us.  Most of the time.  She is very vocal, and makes her opinion known if she is not happy.  For me, though, Annie’s one saving grace is that she has become my daily companion.  I have spent the last 2 months on medical leave from work, and for the first several weeks with the children at school and my husband subbing, I was home alone.  Annie spent every day sitting next to me.  She has crept her way into my heart.  I can’t say our other pets feel  the same, but normal is overrated anyway.

4 thoughts on “Annie and Me

  1. wow she looks so different in the first and second picture, but I could totally relate how great it is to have a dog cheering you up when you are sick 🙂 I hope you are better now 🙂

Leave a Reply

