New Plans For My Next 50 Years

Since the big 5-0 hit me this summer, I’ve experienced a few unusual firsts which has encouraged me to try a few new things…maybe.  Now, before you get too excited, we’re not talking climbing Mt. Everest or bungee jumping here.  I’ve not lost my mind completely!  I die easily and prefer to take on new adventures in baby steps.  I tend to question my decisions frequently – not something one can do after taking the leap strapped to a sky diver.

My first step into my second 50 years was buying my first ever pair of flip flops (it would really show my age if I called them “thongs” and would likely generate several comments!). Whatever you want to call them, this summer I bought a pair of leather sandals with a strap that went between my toes. I’ve always had an aversion to having things between my toes, but during a “what the heck” moment shopping with my daughter, who would live in the nasty rubber footwear year-round, I decided to pick up what I envisioned to be my first of many pairs.  A new-found freedom for my feet.  So many styles and colors to choose from – the next best thing to wearing no shoes at all!  

I wore them twice.   Neither time was pleasant.   They have now taken up residence under the bar in our kitchen happily living their new life as snuggle buddies for our cat Nigel.

 

Another first was eating stuffed green peppers – and liking them. Although still not on my top 20 list of all time favorite foods – there is absolutely NO chocolate involved – I discovered they weren’t as awful as I had previously thought. Much more enjoyable than something between my toes all day.

So, maybe you can teach an old dog new tricks. Or maybe I am just a really late bloomer. Either way, you’re never too old to try something new no matter how big or how small it may seem. Our life is a gift, and each day we should be thankful for every breath and the opportunity that comes with it.

2 thoughts on “New Plans For My Next 50 Years

Leave a Reply

