Some Wonderful Dads I Know

It takes a lot to be a good dad.  Everyone knows about Mr. Cleaver, Mr. Brady, and other TV dads who always knew exactly what to say.  We can all attest to the fact that, in the real world, every dad makes a mistake every now and then.  The best ones realize their mistakes and aren’t afraid to admit they were wrong.

In honor of all the great dads on Father’s Day, I wanted to mention a few of my favorite dads.   In random order, of course, because I don’t make good organized lists.

In previous posts, I’ve mentioned my dad, one of the best men I have ever known.  Honest, kind, his life has been lived for his family.  I have learned so much from him and am still learning.  He taught me by example the importance of keeping your word, always being honest, standing up for what’s right, and being yourself no matter where you are.  He taught me to choose my friends wisely and take my time making important decisions.  Dads may not always get credit for being the nurturer, but the good ones have an impact on their children that passes to future generations.

My father always told me not to get married until I found someone I loved more than I loved myself.  It took almost 30 years, but God finally placed that person in my life and I can’t imagine living my life without him.  He has been a wonderful father to our children and has worked tirelessly for our family.  During some of our time at seminary when I was unable to work, Lonnie worked a full-time job, a part-time job, and carried a full class load.  Most days he only got 4 or 5 hours sleep.  For 20 years, he has done whatever he has needed and has never wavered on his commitment to our marriage and our family.

Although he never had a child of his own, my brother was often more than a father to my nephew.  He set an example for Drew of what being a man  was about.  Tough love, honesty, humility, kindness – he knew what to do and how to do it with love.

                          

Speaking of Drew, he is now a father himself.  I have never seen a happier dad than the day Riley was born.  He loves his baby girl, and I know he will always be watching out for her.  I’ve seen him grow from a baby to a teen and now a man with a wife and child.  He has had some wonderful examples set for him by my dad and my brother through the years, and I know he will live up to the responsibility.

Whether it’s your dad, grandfather, uncle, husband, or someone who is like a father to you, be sure to let your favorite dads know how much you love and appreciate all they have done for you.  Not just today, but every day.

4 thoughts on “Some Wonderful Dads I Know

  1. I found your blog by clicking on the tag ‘random thoughts’ and I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed your post. I’m a big fun of my dad and often think of him as #1 awesome cool dude. He is definitely a nurturer and a hugely positive impact on my, and my brother and sister’s, life.

    • Thank you Sara. Where would we be without our dads? I’ve always been a Daddy’s girl and always will be. He is one of the wisest men I know – just wish I had known that when I was a teen!

Leave a Reply

