My Father Always Knows Best

As a kid in high school or middle.school, did you have a mental picture of what your perfect mate would be like? That kindred spirit who would someday sweep you off your feet and into happily ever after?

My dream man was tall – at least 6’4″. He would have dark, dark hair and dark eyes. He was going to be super slim – the thinner the better. (OK, those of you who know my wonderful husband are grinning by now, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.)

Along the way to adulthood, my dream man didn’t change much. I did encounter a few who met the criteria, but none of them were THE one. In November 1990, as I was quickly sliding toward 30, I realized that maybe God had different plans for me. Maybe I would never marry but spend my entire life as a single missionary in a foreign country. Yes, that was it! I would finish college and go to seminary.  My life would be devoted in service to God, and at the end of my days, possibly I would have a mission offering established in my memory to honor my years of dedicated service, much like the Southern Baptists’ Lottie Moon and Annie Armstrong. Granted, with Lottie getting Christmas and Annie getting Easter, the two big holidays were already taken, but I knew the SBC would work out the details.  I just had to be obedient.

About a week after this revelation, on the Wednesday after Thanksgiving, a guy I had some college classes with asked me if I would like to go to Sonic that evening after church for a Coke.   A strawberry blonde with blue eyes, a few extra pounds, and only 5’6″ tall, he definitely did not fit my ideal man description.   But every college student knows to never pass up a free Coke, so I agreed to go.  What would it hurt?  I had no plans to ever get married, so a Coke, a little conversation, then we would go our separate ways, right? 

Wrong!  My Father had other plans for my life, He was just waiting for me to quit trying to make all the decisions.  After class the next day, I went to work to find a vase of red roses on my desk, special delivery from who I was soon to discover was the best man I’d ever met. 

We were married 7 weeks after that first Coke at Sonic, and celebrated our 20th anniversary this year.  No marriage is perfect everyday, but I know that God brought the perfect man into my life. 

My Sweetheart and our Children, Dec 2010

My life is still spent in service to God – just differently than I thought.  I have a wonderful husband who loves me more than I deserve, two of the best children who have taught me so much, a loving church family – the list goes on and on.  And I’ve learned to seek God’s plan for me instead of trying to make my own decisions.

God has a plan for your life as well.  Seek Him and find out His will.  It may be completely different from what you thought, but He always knows best.

2 thoughts on “My Father Always Knows Best

  1. OMGeez! I really could have written that post….but it would have been Diet Coke. lol One of the first things I said to my (now) husband was “I’m not looking for a boyfriend”, he replied “good, I don’t want a girlfriend”. Two months later we were married! Thirteen years have gone by and we are happier and more in love than ever.

    Don’t you love happy endings?

    • Glad we weren’t the only ones who jumped into marriage! But, when you know it’s right, you just know; no other way to explain it. Thank you for sharing your comments, and I hope you have many, many more happy years together.

Leave a Reply

