Lasagna Gardening

For the past few months, I have been causing confusion in our neighborhood. As a homeschooler, I’ve become immune to the looks directed my way, and happily explain the occasional questions.  My neighbors have seen my children and I toss, drop, shoot, and otherwise propel various objects from our upstairs window into our back yard.  We have ignited a variety of objects, attempted to lay out a scale model of the solar system (75 yards long), shot things into the air or buried them in the ground – all in the name of science. 

But my recent unusual behavior had nothing to do with homeschooling per se, but gardening.  I came across a site explaining lasagna gardening and was immediately sold on the idea of layering compostable items to build up the soil as well as limit weeds. 

One cold winter day, I donned my husband’s oversized coat and boots and methodically tromped the remains of last summer’s garden to the ground.  This involved some high stepping, pulling, stomping, and jumping – a rather entertaining picture for those of you who know me, I’m sure.

A few days later, armed with stacks of newspapers and a water hose, my husband and daughter accompanied me and pitched in as we spread layers of newspaper over the trampled garden, and sprayed them with water.  (Word to the wise, don’t try this on a windy day. . . )

Next, I needed leaves, but where was I going to find enough to cover the entire garden?  We have a large yard, but very few trees.  I was stumped!  Then one day on our way home, we passed several town workers raking and bagging leaves at a local park!  My wonderful husband turned the truck around and went back to ask if we could have the leaves.  The workers were more than happy to deliver them, and by the end of the day we had 15-20 large black trash bags stuffed full of dried leaves stacked beside our shed.  Yes, it did look a bit odd, especially since their contents weren’t immediately obvious, but I think we’ve already established that I am a bit odd at times.

We have since layered our garden with leaves, vegetable scraps, grass clippings, and other organic materials.   We will be setting out some plants soon, and I will keep you updated on our progress.

4 thoughts on “Lasagna Gardening

  1. I’m going to start my lasagna garden in a raised bed in my backyard this fall. I’ve got a small “garden” in my yard this year but not expecting much from it as the soil is very poor. I plan to let my lasagna “bake” over the winter and start planting in the spring. I’d love to keep track of yours and keep you updated on mine as the time comes.

    • I really got a later start on mine than I had hoped. I would love to stay updated on yours, and I will be posting more about mine as the season progresses. I posted a few new pics on another blog post, but they aren’t very good.

Leave a Reply

